Advent Devotional, Dec. 20 by Sherie Koob

Philippians 4:4-7

Earlier this fall, I was asked to attend a “Transformational Leadership” Conference put on by the Northeastern Jurisdiction of the United Methodist Church. I came away from that weekend with the word “humble.” Others may have come away with different words or phrases, like “visionary,” or “watchman,” or “be true to who you were meant to be,” but mine was “humble.” In the time since, I’ve been praying about that word, I’ve done my best to live into that word, and I’ve endeavored to see the humility in those around me. I will continue to study that word because I believe it has much to tell me.

Too often we become prideful and boast. Sometimes we do so as a defense mechanism to hide our insecurities. At other times we do so because we feel we have something more than those around us which puts us above all others – a degree, a title, the latest electronic gadget, etc. But what Paul’s message to the Philippians tells me is that none of those extras matter, nor do our insecurities, because if we humble ourselves before the Lord and let go enough to really feel God’s love for us, we will find peace and our hearts and minds will be free of all troubles.

Prayer: Gracious and Loving Lord, help us each to live into and accept those powerful words you give us to embrace and become a part of our very being. Help us to let go of the secular baggage we carry around. Help us, Lord, to become humble and love you enough to trust that you will provide what we need to give us peace. Amen.

Leave a Reply

