Spiritual Renewal

This was my 5 year old Great nephew’s portrait of me. How is it that a 5 year old perceives that you are always on the run? For me, it is time to just “be.” Even Jesus tells his disciples,  “Come away by yourselves to a desolate place and rest a while.” Mark 6:31. 

So that is what I am doing. It is time for sabbatical! While there will be fun times involved with family and friends, much of the time will be spent in spiritual renewal. This is a time to allow Jesus to speak deeply, once again, into me and over me. I am eager to listen. I have no expectations except to pay attention and listen. 

For much of this time I will be disconnected, off the grid. Some of the time will be spent with the Taize community, and the majority of the time will be spent on the Camino de Santiago. 

While spiritual renewal is something I try to do on a frequent basis, I have never been able to spend this much time for renewal. It is an exciting prospect. I will try to post here from time to time, and, upon my return, hope to share more of the experience on this blog. 

Spiritual renewal is important for us all. While this is a big journey, I try to ensure there is spiritual renewal in smaller forms regularly in my life. What do you do for spiritual renewal?

One thought on “Spiritual Renewal

Leave a Reply

